Dis-Chem 2020 Training Programme
Sub 1:30

Sub 1h30 Training Programme
5k Race Time: 0:19:00
10k Race Time: 0:39:30
Easy run pace: 4:40-5:00p/km
Tempo run pace: 3:55-4:05p/km
Weeks Date Day Description
12 Weeks 21/10/19 Mon Rest
22/10/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins of 90secs fast / 60secs easy, then 20mins easy
23/10/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
24/10/19 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 6 x 150m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog down between reps and 3mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
25/10/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
26/10/19 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
27/10/19 Sun 80mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
11 Weeks 28/10/19 Mon Rest
29/10/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
30/10/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
31/10/19 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 8 x 150m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog down between reps and 3mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
01/11/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
02/11/19 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km, then 20mins easy
03/11/19 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
10 Weeks 04/11/19 Mon Rest
05/11/19 Tue 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
06/11/19 Wed 70mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
07/11/19 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
08/11/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
09/11/19 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards
10/11/19 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
9 Weeks 11/11/19 Mon Rest
12/11/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km, then 20mins easy
13/11/19 Wed 70mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
14/11/19 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
15/11/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
16/11/19 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 6 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
17/11/19 Sun 80mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
8 Weeks 18/11/19 Mon Rest
19/11/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 15mins at 3:50-4:00p/km with 5mins very slow jog between, then 10mins easy
20/11/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
21/11/19 Thu 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
22/11/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
23/11/19 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards OR 20mins easy, then 6 x 1000m in 3:40 with 3.5mins slow jog between reps, then 10mins easy
24/11/19 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
7 Weeks 25/11/19 Mon Rest
26/11/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 8 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
27/11/19 Wed 45mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
28/11/19 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
29/11/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
30/11/19 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 15mins at 3:50-4:00p/km with 5mins very slow jog between, then 20mins easy
01/12/19 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
6 Weeks 02/12/19 Mon Rest
03/12/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then on a long gradual incline do 6 x 600m reps at 4:10-4:15p/km, then easy jog back down with lightly “spinning” the legs for the last 400m of the downhill back, then 2mins very easy jog at the bottom before the next rep, then 15-20mins easy
04/12/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
05/12/19 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 4:10-4:20p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km
06/12/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
07/12/19 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
08/12/19 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
5 Weeks 09/12/19 Mon Rest
10/12/19 Tue 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
11/12/19 Wed 70mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
12/12/19 Thu 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
13/12/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
14/12/19 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards OR 20mins easy, then 6 x 1000m in 3:40 with 3.5mins slow jog between reps, then 10mins easy
15/12/19 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
4 Weeks 16/12/19 Mon Rest
17/12/19 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 8 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
18/12/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
19/12/19 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 15 x 100m fast hill reps on a steep incline with slow jog down between, then 20mins easy
20/12/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
21/12/19 Sat 80mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
22/12/19 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
3 Weeks 23/12/19 Mon 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
24/12/19 Tue Rest
25/12/19 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
26/12/19 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 10 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
27/12/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
28/12/19 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
29/12/19 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
2 Weeks 30/12/19 Mon 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
31/12/19 Tue Rest
01/01/20 Wed 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
02/01/20 Thu 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
03/01/20 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
04/01/20 Sat 20mins easy at 4:50-5:00p/km, then 5 x 400m in 80secs with 2mins slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
05/01/20 Sun 70mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
1 Week 06/01/20 Mon Rest
07/01/20 Tue 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
08/01/20 Wed 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 3mins at 4:10-4:15p/km with 3mins very slow jog between, then 10mins very easy
09/01/20 Thu 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km or rest day
10/01/20 Fri 35mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
11/01/20 Sat 30-35mins very easy, then 4 x light 100m strides with slow jog back between
12/01/20 Sun Dischem 21k Race