Dis-Chem 2019 Training Programme Sub 1:302018-11-28T09:57:16+00:00

Dis-Chem 2019 Training Programme
Sub 1:30

Sub 1h30
5k Race Time: 00:19:00
10k Race Time: 00:39:30
Easy run pace: 4:40-5:00p/km
Tempo run pace: 3:55-4:05p/km
Weeks Date Day Description
12 Weeks 22/10/18 Mon Rest
23/10/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins of 90secs fast / 60secs easy, then 20mins easy
24/10/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
25/10/18 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 6 x 150m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog down between reps and 3mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
26/10/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
27/10/18 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
28/10/18 Sun 80mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
11 Weeks 29/10/18 Mon Rest
30/10/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
31/10/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
01/11/18 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 8 x 150m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog down between reps and 3mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
02/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
03/11/18 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km, then 20mins easy
04/11/18 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
10 Weeks 05/11/18 Mon Rest
06/11/18 Tue 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
07/11/18 Wed 70mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
08/11/18 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
09/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
10/11/18 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards
11/11/18 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
9 Weeks 12/11/18 Mon Rest
13/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km, then 20mins easy
14/11/18 Wed 70mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
15/11/18 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
16/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
17/11/18 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 6 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
18/11/18 Sun 80mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
8 Weeks 19/11/18 Mon Rest
20/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 15mins at 3:50-4:00p/km with 5mins very slow jog between, then 10mins easy
21/11/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
22/11/18 Thu 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
23/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
24/11/18 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards OR 20mins easy, then 6 x 1000m in 3:40 with 3.5mins slow jog between reps, then 10mins easy
25/11/18 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
7 Weeks 26/11/18 Mon Rest
27/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 8 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
28/11/18 Wed 45mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
29/11/18 Thu 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
30/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
01/12/18 Sat 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 2 x 15mins at 3:50-4:00p/km with 5mins very slow jog between, then 20mins easy
02/12/18 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
6 Weeks 03/12/18 Mon Rest
04/12/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then on a long gradual incline do 6 x 600m reps at 4:10-4:15p/km, then easy jog back down with lightly “spinning” the legs for the last 400m of the downhill back, then 2mins very easy jog at the bottom before the next rep, then 15-20mins easy
05/12/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
06/12/18 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 20mins at 4:10-4:20p/km, then 20mins at 3:55-4:05p/km
07/12/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
08/12/18 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
09/12/18 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
5 Weeks 10/12/18 Mon Rest
11/12/18 Tue 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
12/12/18 Wed 70mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
13/12/18 Thu 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
14/12/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
15/12/18 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards OR 20mins easy, then 6 x 1000m in 3:40 with 3.5mins slow jog between reps, then 10mins easy
16/12/18 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
4 Weeks 17/12/18 Mon Rest
18/12/18 Tue 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 8 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
19/12/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
20/12/18 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 15 x 100m fast hill reps on a steep incline with slow jog down between, then 20mins easy
21/12/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
22/12/18 Sat 80mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
23/12/18 Sun 90mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
3 Weeks 24/12/18 Mon 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
25/12/18 Tue Rest
26/12/18 Wed 60mins easy at 4:30-4:50p/km
27/12/18 Thu 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 10 x 400m in 80-84secs with 90secs very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
28/12/18 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
29/12/18 Sat 60mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km on undulating route
30/12/18 Sun 120mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
2 Weeks 31/12/18 Mon 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
01/01/19 Tue Rest
02/01/19 Wed 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 800m in 3mins02-3mins05 with 3mins very slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
03/01/19 Thu 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
04/01/19 Fri 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km & gym
05/01/19 Sat 20mins easy at 4:50-5:00p/km, then 5 x 400m in 80secs with 2mins slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
06/01/19 Sun 70mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
1 Week 07/01/19 Mon Rest
08/01/19 Tue 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
09/01/19 Wed 20mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km, then 4 x 3mins at 4:10-4:15p/km with 3mins very slow jog between, then 10mins very easy
10/01/19 Thu 45mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km or rest day
11/01/19 Fri 35mins easy at 4:40-5:00p/km
12/01/19 Sat 30-35mins very easy, then 4 x light 100m strides with slow jog back between
13/01/19 Sun Dischem 21k Race