Dis-Chem 2019 Training Programme Sub 2:002018-11-28T09:50:13+00:00

Dis-Chem 2019 Training Programme
Sub 2:00

Sub 2h00
5k Race Time: 00:25:30
10k Race Time: 00:52:50
Easy run pace: 5:50-6:20p/km
Tempo run pace: 5:15-5:25p/km
Weeks Date Day Description
12 Weeks 22/10/18 Mon Rest
23/10/18 Tue 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
24/10/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
25/10/18 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
26/10/18 Fri Gym
27/10/18 Sat 80mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
28/10/18 Sun 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
11 Weeks 29/10/18 Mon Rest
30/10/18 Tue 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
31/10/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
01/11/18 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
02/11/18 Fri Gym
03/11/18 Sat 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
04/11/18 Sun 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
10 Weeks 05/11/18 Mon Rest
06/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 5mins of 30secs fast, 30secs easy, with 5mins easy jog between sets, then 15mins easy
07/11/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
08/11/18 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km on undulating route
09/11/18 Fri Gym
10/11/18 Sat 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
11/11/18 Sun 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
9 Weeks 12/11/18 Mon Rest
13/11/18 Tue 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km on undulating route
14/11/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
15/11/18 Thu Gym
16/11/18 Fri 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
17/11/18 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards
18/11/18 Sun 80mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
8 Weeks 19/11/18 Mon Rest
20/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 4 x 120m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog/walk down between reps and 3-5mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
21/11/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
22/11/18 Thu 15mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 10mins at 5:15-5:25p/km with 5mins slow jog between, then 20mins easy
23/11/18 Fri Gym
24/11/18 Sat 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
25/11/18 Sun 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
7 Weeks 26/11/18 Mon Rest
27/11/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 40mins at 5:30-5:40p/km on moderate undulation
28/11/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
29/11/18 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
30/11/18 Fri Gym
01/12/18 Sat 100mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
02/12/18 Sun 45-60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
6 Weeks 03/12/18 Mon Rest
04/12/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 6 x 120m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog/walk down between reps and 3-5mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
05/12/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
06/12/18 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km and/or Gym
07/12/18 Fri 15mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 15mins at 5:15-5:25p/km with 5mins slow jog between, then 20mins easy
08/12/18 Sat 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
09/12/18 Sun 120mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
5 Weeks 10/12/18 Mon Rest
11/12/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then on a long gradual incline do 4 x 600m reps at 5:35-5:45p/km, then easy jog back down with lightly “spinning” the legs for the last 400m of the downhill back, then 2mins very easy jog at the bottom before the next rep, then 15-20mins easy
12/12/18 Wed 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
13/12/18 Thu 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 20mins at 5:15-5:25p/km, then 20mins easy
14/12/18 Fri Gym
15/12/18 Sat 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
16/12/18 Sun 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
4 Weeks 17/12/18 Mon Rest
18/12/18 Tue 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then on a long gradual incline do 4 x 600m reps at 5:35-5:45p/km lighting “spinning” the legs for the last 400m of the downhill back, then 2mins very easy jog at the bottom before the next rep, then 15-20mins easy
19/12/18 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
20/12/18 Thu 15mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 30mins at 5:15-5:25p/km, then 15mins easy
21/12/18 Fri Gym
22/12/18 Sat 80mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
23/12/18 Sun 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
3 Weeks 24/12/18 Mon Gym and/or cross training (swimming, bike, etc)
25/12/18 Tue Rest
26/12/18 Wed 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 8 x 150m hill reps on a steep incline (focus on high knees and drive as opposed to how fast you can sprint the hill) with slow jog/walk down between reps and 3-5mins very easy jog between sets, then 20mins easy
27/12/18 Thu 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
28/12/18 Fri Gym
29/12/18 Sat 15mins very easy, then 4 x 100m light strides, then push a Parkrun or your own 5k time trial route, then 15-20mins very easy afterwards
30/12/18 Sun 90mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
2 Weeks 31/12/18 Mon Gym and/or cross training (swimming, bike, etc)
01/01/19 Tue Rest
02/01/19 Wed 60mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km on undulating route
03/01/19 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
04/01/19 Fri Gym
05/01/19 Sat 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 4 x 5mins at 5:15-5:25p/km with 60secs slow jog between reps, then 20mins easy
06/01/19 Sun 70mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
1 Week 07/01/19 Mon Rest
08/01/19 Tue 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
09/01/19 Wed 20mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km, then 2 x 5mins at 5:15-5:25p/km with 5mins slow jog between reps, then 10mins easy
10/01/19 Thu 45mins easy at 5:50-6:20p/km
11/01/19 Fri Rest
12/01/19 Sat 30-40mins very easy
13/01/19 Sun Dischem 21k Race